Inspiration [ August 22, 2008, 2:49 a.m. ]
Hearing - Men's Track and Field
Feeling - A surge of American Pride
Wearing - Blue Tank, Pink Shorts... Tacky right?
Photobucket

So yet again, I go months without writing. I just don't think about it. Plus I've been sleeping a ton because I feel like poo! But I've been inspired!

Watching the Olympics has become a sourse of enery and renewing spirit. I sit at home and watch these athletes compete and I am in awe. Yes, they want to win, but more so they are doing something they love. But more so they are dedicated to something. So I've decided to use this as a fuel for my own fire. I love to write, I love to paint, and I love to travel. So I've decided that I'm going to turn this journal *atleast for the next few years* in to my log of accomplishment while I attempt to make it to London in 2012.

And can we talk about Michael Phelps. Ok, so I am so proud of him and the US Swim team for all of the accomplishment they've had in these games. It makes me even more proud to be an American, the land of the free, and the home of the brave. But at the same time it makes me sad. The media has been swirling on MP's jock ever since his 8th win along with the rest of the world. What about all of us who have been supporting and cheering since before Beijing and even before Athens. I've been a Michael Phelps fan since before Sydney, during the Olympic trials. I remember watching him at 15, so great yet so akward, do what no one has done before. Now you have people like Lindsey Lohan, who I gurantee doesn't give a shit about swimming, calling MP. What about the Originals!??! Oh well, just a rant!

So anyway, more about London. It's going to take me 4 years to save up the money, but I have big plans, and big dreams. The Olympis in 2012 start on my birthday! WOO HOO!! I want to catch the Opening Ceremony and the swim meet, then travel around for about a month, coming back to London for the Closing/Handover! I'm really hoping 2016 gets passed to Chicago. How f'n cool would that be? I guess I have to talk about my slight *ok huge* obsession with the Olympics. To me they are the coming together of the world for 2 weeks. The pride that should be felt always is hightened. To see so many American and people from all over travel to China is so amazing. I've watched Russians hugging Georgians, even with what's going on in our world. North and South Korea compeating as one. Americans congratulating people of all races, creeds, sexualities. What is more powerful than that? I've been watching Beijing on tv, wishing and hoping I could be there. Money just won't let it happen. Atlanta in 1996 was amazing and I'm sooo looking forward to traveling around Great Britain and watching the worlds top sportsmen.

This is my rededication. No more angry or sad entries.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
i'm a fan...
rings
email
guestbook
notes
gracious host
design