Bringing on Change [ November 21, 2005, 2:42 p.m. ]



Photobucket

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!! God, I hate rain! It just seems to make me hurt 10 times worse than I normally do. I can't fucking stand it! Well what can I say? Nothing new to really talk about. I'm still working on Christmas presents. I don't know if I've written about it before, but I'm making these really cool boxes for my family members. So far I've made a religious box for my Abuela, a patriotic box for my Titi Nessa *that's aunt in spanish by the way* and I just started painting the beach box for my Titi Sana. I have plans to make a soccer memory box for my cousin Liam. I think he'll really like it when I'm done. I just need to find a box big enough. The whole purpose with his is to keep all of his soccer pictures, medals, and trinkets. That way all of it stays together and when he gets older he knows where it all is. After all I have plans to put a huge soccer ball on the top of it so there is no mistaking what it contains. I wish someone had done that for me when I was younger. It would have made keeping things organized a lot easier. Instead I have a million things spread all over in boxes in my closet, the attic, and under my bed. I really should clean house, but I just can't seem to part with my high school memories. I look back and I really hated high school, but at the same time I know that if I hadn't lived it, then I wouldn't be who I am today. Maybe that's why I keep them around, to remind me of the person I was and how I've evolved. I really was a mean and cold hearted bitch in HS. I'm so glad I'm so different. I actually care about people, there is no judging a book by it's cover anymore. And I feel so accompished even though things aren't going to hot for me right now.

I am going to start doing fundraising for Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy research. That's the disease I have. I wish I could find something that works for me like Paula Abdul. I know it took her years of searching, different surgeries, and lots of pain to get where she is. I just wish I could wake up tomorrow and be normal again. I have to say one thing. I thank God for my disease. I think that it has helped my transformation into a better person. I'm stronger, a total fighter, I'm more patient, I'm more understanding, and I'm much more sympathetic to the human condition. Injustice, no matter which form it comes in pisses me off! Racism, Sexism, Bigotry, Hate... they really get me going. I have so much to say and no one with enough sense to talk to about it except Becca. I swear that living in Hopewell has warpped everyone's minds. They see black and white, I don't want to see that way, I want to see good and bad, not color! I've strived to get to the place where I am today. There is so much presumption when it comes to races. Sterotypes piss me off. Not every black person is uneducated and a gang memeber, not all hispanics are illegal and jumped a boarder, and not all white people are rich and only look out for themselves. Why can't we get past these views of people. Why can't they just be that, PEOPLE!?!??! Wow, and I didn't think I had anything to say. I guess some topics just get me going! My main point is that we as Americans need to stop being tolerant and begin to accept people for what we each bring to the table, difference and the chance to make change!

Well on that note...

peace and love,
Dita

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
i'm a fan...
rings
email
guestbook
notes
gracious host
design